How to Get a Library Card
The library issues library cards free of charge to all persons with qualifying identification. This includes all residents in the region stretching roughly from Crestone in the south to Fairplay and Leadville in the north, and from Monarch in the west to Texas Creek in the east. We also issue cards to any Colorado state resident with a valid Colorado Library Card (CLC).
To receive a library card, bring a photo identification card with your current local address. If you are new to the area and haven’t yet switched your photo ID to your current address, bring the photo ID and something printed with your name and local address (a piece of mail, a bill, a checkbook, a pay check, a rent receipt, etc.) Please inform the library staff if your mailing address or telephone number has changed so that we may update our records.
Children, age 16 and under, should be accompanied by a parent, and the parent should have a valid Salida Regional Library card or the photo identification described above.
Visitors and other short-term temporary residents qualify for a visitor’s card. Please be prepared to show a photo ID and leave a $25 refundable deposit. Before leaving the area, all materials and the visitor’s card must be returned to receive the deposit.
Adults may borrow 20 items total. These may include any combination of books, older magazines (not the current issue), DVDs, CD books, and music CDs. This means a maximum of 20 items checked out concurrently, not 20 items checked out on each library visit.
Children aged 5 years through grade 6 may borrow as many as 10 items at a time.
Visitors may borrow 5 items of any type at a time.
CLC card holders have the same borrowing privileges as Adults (above).
3 weeks – All books, magazines, audios, DVDs, CDs, etc.
Renewals – No renewals on NEW books. All other items may be renewed twice if, and only if, no one else is waiting.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN materials may NOT be renewed.
Placing Holds & Receiving Notification
You may log into your account and search the catalog to place holds on items. The library does not make phone call notification when your item is on hold. You can sign up for Shoutbomb text messaging to see if your items are on hold. Or you can check your library account online.
Fines/Lost & Damaged Charges:
New books, audiobooks, DVDs, and interlibrary loan materials accrue a late charge of 25 cents per day.
All other library materials are 5 cents per day.
Patrons must pay for any materials that are lost or damaged through carelessness. The charge will include the replacement cost plus a processing fee. When the total of outstanding fines plus fees exceeds $5.00, your borrowing privileges may be temporarily suspended until the total charge has been paid. We do understand that some materials fail with age and usage. Please inform us when returning a damaged item so that we may repair or replace it.